Elected Officials


  • 7:00 pm
  • 2nd and 4th Tuesdays of every month
    The City Council does not meet on the fourth Tuesday in December.

Regular San Bruno City Council meetings are held at the San Bruno Senior Center located at 1555 Crystal Springs Road, San Bruno, CA  94066.  Regular meetings are aired LIVE on Zoom, the City of San Bruno YouTube Channel and San Bruno CityNet Services' local Channel 1 [SD] | Channel 10 [HD].  Meeting video is also archived with the agenda packet material.

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes

  1. Image of Rico Medina

    Rico E. Medina


  1. Image of Tom Hamilton

    Tom Hamilton

    Vice Mayor

  1. Image of Sandy Alvarez

    Sandy Alvarez

    Councilmember, District 1

  1. Image of Marty Medina

    Marty Medina

    Councilmember, District 4

  1. Image of Michael Salazar

    Michael Salazar



The City of San Bruno was incorporated on December 23, 1914, as a General Law City. San Bruno is governed by the City Council and operates under a Council-Manager form of government. As the policy-making body, it has the ultimate responsibility to the people of San Bruno and the implementation of all programs and City services. It approves all ordinances, resolutions, and major contracts, modifies and approves the budget, and has the responsibility of employing a City Manager and City Attorney. The City Council appoints citizens to advisory boards, commissions and committees.

All major changes in direction or emphasis and organizational changes must be approved by the City Council. The City Council sets the policy and adopts the City budget. The City Manager and staff enforce the laws and implement the programs and policies which are established by the City Council.

San Bruno has an elected five-member City Council. On March 22, 2022, the San Bruno City Council completed its sixth and final public hearing on the district formation process. By adopting Ordinance 1907, the City Council established the City’s first district map for City Council elections. The Ordinance implements by-district elections of four City Council Members beginning in November 2022. 

The City of San Bruno first by-district election began with representatives for Districts 1 and 4 during the November 2022 election. In November 2024, the remaining two districts (2 and 3) will be up for election.  Each district Council Member will serve a four-year term and must live in their respective district.  

The remaining Council Member, the Mayor, will continue to be elected every two years. This structure was established by Measure F in 1977 and is not affected by the adoption of a 4-district map. 

The Mayor chairs the City Council meetings, issues proclamations of recognition, represents the City in certain intergovernmental affairs and is the ceremonial head of the City. Although the Mayor is expected to provide political leadership on City issues, the Mayor has no greater authority than any other City Council member. The Mayor and City Council as a collective body is the power of authority. The Mayor and City Council members have no authority as individuals; they must act by a majority to achieve their objectives.